Selfie Named Word of the Year; Celebrate With These 10 Amazing Celebrity Selfies

shares
Jump to Comments

Proprietor of fine words, the Oxford dictionary has officially awarded their prestigious 2013 word of the year title to — drumroll — the word selfie. Beating out such crowd favorites as “twerk” and personal favorites like “ridiculous,” “unbelievable” and “seriously,” selfie can now take its place on the locution podium behind past winners “GIF” (2012) and “podcast” (2005) and future winner “eye-roll” (2014). Bust out your noise makers, party people, we’re celebrating with these 10 amazing celebrity selfies.

1. Miley Cyrus

GERMANYYYY ❤️❤️❤️ @bambi_awards here I come 💚💙💚💙😬

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

This was sadly not a “Party in the U.S.A.” It was a party in Ger-Man-Y, which let’s face it, is a lot less catchy.

2. Nick Jonas

I never do this but… Healthy living and fitness update. Post workout picture. #diabeticinshape #2.0

A post shared by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on

Nick Jonas five seconds after snapping this photo: “Somebody needs to call the ABB-ulance because this body is sick.”

Next: Rihanna, Ian Somerhalder, and more!

3. Beyonce

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

Beyonce’s selfie wins our award for “Best Celebrity Selfie That Could Double as a Postcard.” We could imagine sending this to our parents with the message, “Happy Thanksgiving 2013!”

4. Rihanna

She. x TrapstaR

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

What’s the average number of selfies people take before posting? Is there an unwritten rule you need to post your first attempt?

5. Justin Bieber

"That hold on tight, them lips won't let me go"

A post shared by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on

It looks like 10 seconds before he posed for this selfie somebody asked, “Hey Justin, quick, what’s 43 x 23 + 8?” (Yeah, we don’t know the answer either.)

6. Ian Somerhalder

See? It’s not that difficult. THIS IS HOW YOU SELFIE, PEOPLE.

7. Zooey Deschanel

Jess is back!

A post shared by Zooey Deschanel (@zooeydeschanel) on

When I have bedhead I look like a tired werewolf. Zooey Deschanel has bedhead and looks like a princess.

8. Austin Mahone

TONIGHT AT 7:30PM EST TIME!!! WORLD PREMIERE "BANGA! BANGA!" ON @B96Radio TUNE IN AT: B96.com/stream

A post shared by Austin Mahone (@austinmahone) on

Why do you look so surprised, Austin? You’re taking a picture of yourself!

9. Lea Michele

Me and @esteestanley on our way to #Vogue CFDA Event..

A post shared by Lea Michele (@leamichele) on

Wow. Lea Michele looks so elegant. This is the equivalent of seeing a rainbow in the landscape of instagram selfies.

10. Lady Gaga

Listen, if you can pull off the sexy Benjamin Franklin look you do it. No questions asked.

What do you think about “selfie” being named word of the year?

Read more:
Taylor Swift Sings Eminem’s ‘Lose Yourself’ and 8 More Surprising Celebrity Covers — VIDEO
‘What Would I Say’ Goes Viral on Facebook; Our Statuses for Katy Perry, Eminem and More
Which TV couple has the best on-screen chemistry?
What’s the BEST young adult movie of all time?
Wedding CrashersDumb and Dumber and more: Where are popular movie duos now?

For the latest pop culture news and voting, make sure to sign up for the People’s Choice newsletter!